Edit Content

The Ultimate Pop Magazine

Only £4.99

Loreen makes history as Sweden wins 2023 Eurovision Song Contest with Tattoo

Loreen Credit Sarah Louise Bennett
Sarah Louise Bennett

Loreen has become the first female artist to win the Eurovision Song Contest twice as Tattoo topped the scoreboard during Saturday’s Grand Final.

The singer – who won Eurovision back in 2012 with Euphoria – returned to the show this year with her hit single, which entered the show as a firm favourite.

Having come out on top of the jury vote, Loreen smashed the public vote and came out on top following close competition from Finland’s Käärijä and Israel’s Noa Kirel.

Her victory means the 2024 Contest will be held in Sweden – 50 years since ABBA won Eurovision in Brighton, England in 1974 with Waterloo.

Over the years, several artists have had multiple shots at Eurovision success, but in its 67-year history only Ireland’s Johnny Logan has managed to win twice (with What’s Another Year? in 1980 and again in 1987 with Hold Me Now). 

Loreen said the victory was “overwhelming”, adding: “I’m so happy. I’m so thankful. Thank you for this. This is for you. Thank you.”

Meanwhile, the UK’s Mae Muller failed to match the success of last year”s performer Sam Ryder’s second-place entry Space Man, finishing second to last with her entry, I Wrote A Song.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2023 Grand Final scoreboard is below.

1. Sweden: Loreen – Tattoo

2. Finland: Käärijä – Cha Cha Cha

3. Israel: Noa Kirel – Unicorn

    4. Italy: Marco Mengoni – Due Vite

    5. Norway: Alessandra – Queen of Kings

    6. Ukraine: TVORCHI – Heart of Steel

    7. Belgium: Gustaph – Because Of You

    8. Estonia: Alika – Bridges

    9. Australia: Voyager – Promise

    10. Czechia: Vesna – My Sister’s Crown

    11. Lithuania: Monika Linkytė – Stay

    12. Cyprus: Andrew Lambrou – Break A Broken Heart

    13. Croatia: Let 3 – Mama ŠČ!

    14. Armenia: Brunette – Future Lover

    15. Austria: Teya & Salena – Who The Hell Is Edgar?

    16. France: La Zarra – Évidemment

    17. Spain: Blanca Paloma – Eaea

    18. Moldova: Pasha Parfeni – Soarele şi Luna

    19. Poland : Blanka – Solo

    20. Switzerland: Remo Forrer – Watergun

    21. Slovenia: oker Out – Carpe Diem

    22. Albania: Albina & Familja Kelmendi – Duje

    23. Portugal: Mimicat – Ai Coração

    24. Serbia: Luke Black – Samo Mi Se Spava

    25. United Kingdom: Mae Muller – I Wrote A Song

    26. Germany: Lord of the Lost – Blood & Glitter

    Sign up for the free RETROPOP newsletter


    Sign up for the free RETROPOP newsletter


    Join Our Mailing List

    Sign up for the free RETROPOP newsletter and receive the latest content and exclusive offers straight to your inbox